Twitter and Facebook…Do We Really Need Both?

Alright, I’m the first one to point out that spending anything more than an hour or so a day on Facebook and Twitter really isn’t making the best use of the hours in the day, we only live so long right? With that being said, there is a good chance I spend more time on both social media outlets than many others out there…not an obscene amount of time…but still a considerable amount.  Anyways I digress, Facebook and Twitter do have their respective places in one’s daily life, but I tend to avoid the two outlets overlap…mainly to justify having both.

Facebook

Facebook really needs no introduction, it’s huge, it’s the biggest thing since sliced bread, it’s in like Flynn, I really can’t say more…but what makes it special?  The creeping of course! Facebook is the ultimate socializing tool.  Having a party? Create a Facebook event and group about it, then invite all your friends, it’s so easy it hurts!  Have a crush on a girl that works in the same mall as you? Find out her name and look her up on the book! It’s that easy.  I often say that I really only have Facebook because I’m currently single…and well it is quite useful in meeting people.

For some reason I cannot explain, but I really don’t keep track of the businesses I like on Facebook, actors yes, bands yes, even author’s, but businesses, restaurant’s and the like? Well for some reason I prefer to follow them on Twitter, nothing more.  Facebook still doesn’t quite engage the consumer or the reader, there is still a barrier.  I can’t quite explain it, but it feels much less personal…that is unless a business were to show up on Facebook chat and engage me in a conversation.

Twitter

I must admit that I do thoroughly enjoy Twitter, there is nothing more thrilling than a business or celebrity directly replying or re-tweeting something you tweeted. In addition, even if I am watching an awards show alone, I never feel as though I am by myself, as people are constantly tweeting their opinions on winners or performances (e.g. the massive American uproar when Arcade Fire won Best Album at this year’s Grammy awards). From a business perspective my favorite aspect of Twitter is when a company advertises a sale, or daily special (e.g. the Inn at the Forks advertises their lunch and dinner specials daily).  This is smart because if someone is looking for a place to eat that day, but are not sure and are on their Twitter, Boom! here’s our special of the day.  Also, Twitter is fast becoming the go to source for news…as long as you’re following the right sources.

The current problem with Twitter? The people that post what’s in their sandwich that they brought from home, or how they’re having a fight with their significant other (this all applies to Facebook as well).  People, keep your problems to yourself!

Anyways, take from this what you will, they’re both good for their own reasons.

 

Tim

About Tim Horn

I have recently acquired a degree in Film Studies at the University of Manitoba and am now enrolled in the Creative Communications program at Red River College. Film, Literature, Music, Comic Books, and Video Games. These are the things that feed my brain and keep me sane.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

