To Seek a Publisher or to Self-Publish, That is the Question…

Although I am not at all in a situation to have any of my work published or filmed…or even read by someone other than myself, up and coming authors who may not have any funds or resources or contacts have discovered a new venue for publishing there own works (either for free or for a minimal cost).  This is known as self-publishing, and with the massive interest now emerging in eBooks, well the sky is now the limit.

What do I think?  Well let me use an analogy that hits a little closer to home with me, and that is a film screenplay.  If I just spent months (or years) putting everything I’ve got into writing what I feel to be a masterpiece of a screenplay, what would I do? Scrounge up whatever resources I can and film it myself or seek out a studio in the unlikely chance that someone will notice it.  Well the answer to me is quite simple, I would seek out the studio!  The only thing worse than a bad movie, is a bad indie movie that could have been good if made with the proper resources.  If I feel as though my screenplay is worth its salt I will send it to anyone and everyone in the business, but unless I fall upon a sufficient source of income I absolutely would not try filming it myself.  Now many successful filmmakers got their start filming their own screenplays on shoe-string budgets, but the key is they still had the shoe-string.  A movie is only as good as its screenplay, yes, but a screenplay is only as good as the production values surrounding it.

To relate this to self-publishing books,  no matter how good the book is, you need the right team of editors, marketers, publishers, etc. backing it to make it a success.  eBooks are interesting in that they are simply digital copies of a book, meaning one doesn’t necessarily have to worry as much about the physical production values of the novel (think digital distribution vs. DVD to put it into film terms) as they would through regular distribution means.  With that being said, who is going to buy an eBook wrote by someone they have never heard of? For that matter, who is going to buy a physical book by someone they have never heard of unless they know of the publisher distributing it?

If what you have made truly is something special, it will be noticed, one just has to make the effort.

About Tim Horn

I have recently acquired a degree in Film Studies at the University of Manitoba and am now enrolled in the Creative Communications program at Red River College. Film, Literature, Music, Comic Books, and Video Games. These are the things that feed my brain and keep me sane.
This entry was posted in Books, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

