Cool Thing #13: An Old Fashioned Night at the Movies

At the risk of sounding cliche, I’ve got a bone to pick.  I am an avid film-goer who ventures to the movie theater weekly (often times more so) to watch the newest releases from the big guns (20th Century Fox, Paramount, Warner Brothers, etc.) and the little guys (E1, Alliance Films, etc.), but what I don’t go to see is Fletch or Chet (or whatever the hell his name is) the magician who sneaks up on some poor unsuspecting sod and shows them a magic trick.  I also don’t go to see Jeff or Mitch or whatever the guys name is who is showing off the latest tech that none of us can afford.  I go to the movie theater to see two things:

1. The Coming Attractions

2. The Feature Presentation

In Winnipeg, the Globe Cinema and Empire Theaters – Grant Park, are about as close as someone can get to a more traditional film experience as they have less crap before their films, but Silver City? I cherish the time I wait in line to get popcorn, I encourage people to take their time at the automated ticket machines, just so I don’t have to watch some magician pull a bird out of his pants.

Rewind to sixty, seventy, even eighty years ago, and what do you think played before the movies then? Newsreels, short films, cartoons…things actually worth watching that is.

Here is what I propose, every so often I am going to round up a newsreel and a short cartoon or comedy skit, exactly the same as you would have seen before a movie all those years ago, and post them on my blog.

If even one person watches them before they start watching a movie, I will have done my job.  The cinema used to be an event, why can’t it still be?

Here is tonight’s segment, all from 1951, perfect for those who own the original The Day the Earth Stood Still.

Movietone Newsreel

The Looney Tunes

Lovelorn Leghorn

And now for your Feature Presentation:

(Go out and BUY or RENT the movie if you are interested in seeing it!)

Enjoy!

About Tim Horn

I have recently acquired a degree in Film Studies at the University of Manitoba and am now enrolled in the Creative Communications program at Red River College. Film, Literature, Music, Comic Books, and Video Games. These are the things that feed my brain and keep me sane.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cool Thing #13: An Old Fashioned Night at the Movies

  1. For a taste of moviegoing ’60s- and ’70s-style, round up some NFB shorts.
    They’re great!

  2. Kenton says:

    But do you go for the ads? Nope – me neither!

    • Fredo says:

      Thanks for the good words Tim….I cant believe you hate someone after seeing 1 minute and a half of what he does !!! Well ….anyway…you have to right to your opinions….

      • Tim Horn says:

        I made some adjustments to the post Fredo, as I do want to clear up the fact that I don’t hate you as an individual. The Cineplex pre-game show, however, I do despise. Especially considering I payed to get into the theater in the first place.

Comments are closed.