Cool Thing #10

The Maltese Falcon

I am somewhat ashamed to say that I am that film student that hasn’t seen some of the movies that people assume I’ve seen.  Scarface…well I’ve seen some…Metropolis…well it’s on my pvr…The Maltese Falcon…look I’m only one man.

Well here’s the new news, last night Cineplex held the third entry into their Classic Film Series, and I was there to enjoy it.  The film was none other than John Huston’s adaptation of Dashiell Hammett’s classic, The Maltese Falcon.

Like Casablanca, The Maltese Falcon is one of those films that has been quoted in just about every medium imaginable.  Humphrey Bogart is superb as the unstable, eccentric, but uber bad ass P.I. Sam Spade.  Bogart’s Spade is like a bag of microwave popcorn, he’s still one moment, but once the heats applied, he’s loud, he’s unpredictable, and yet still delicious…I can only assume.

Mary Astor plays Spade’s compulsive liar femme fatale Brigid, and yes, she lies well.

I’ve got to say, like in Casablanca, Peter Lorre is an absolute riot.

The movie is a gem, and if I can’t sell it to you, this trailer sure as hell will.

You’re a good man sister.

About Tim Horn

I have recently acquired a degree in Film Studies at the University of Manitoba and am now enrolled in the Creative Communications program at Red River College. Film, Literature, Music, Comic Books, and Video Games. These are the things that feed my brain and keep me sane.
This entry was posted in Books, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cool Thing #10

  1. Sam Spade sounds Canadian:
    “The cheaper the crook, the gaudier the patter, eh?”

  2. you should see the list of movies that I’ve never see. ET, Goodfellas, The Godfather Trilogy, Apocolypse Now, most “classics”, half of the Star Wars films (totally by choice, though, just not my thing), I could keep going on and on and on.

Leave a Reply

