If I Were To…

See a movie with friends or a date this weekend…

If you haven’t already seen it I would first and foremost check out Oliver Stone’s Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps.

The Perfect Poster?

It’s great to see Douglas back in action as Gordan Gekko and LaBeouf gives a strong performance as well.  The cast also includes the always excellent Josh Brolin, Frank Langella, Susan Sarandon, Carey Mulligan, and Eli Wallach.  Stone’s directing is excellent as always.

If you have already seen the film or are in the mood for a double header, I would definitely check out Casey Affleck’s quasi-documentary I’m Still Here starring Joaquin Phoenix.

This documentary didn’t come as a massive surprise to me, but all the same I can’t wait to see what Affleck and Phoenix really had up their sleeves.  I anticipate the film to be at times painful, other times hilarious, but always entertaining and insightful. Definitely worth checking out.

Phoenix manages to even make this poster somehow beautiful.

I’m Still Here will be opening at the Globe theatre on October. 1st.

Go on a classy date…(in Winnipeg)

I would go for a hot dish at a nice establishment like Dacquisto’s on Kenaston or Pasquale’s on Marion.

I would then go see Dracula by the Royal Winnipeg Ballet.  The show is playing at the Centennial Concert Hall until October 3.

Just don’t wear a t-shirt and jeans – no not even a Beatles t-shirt –  this is a classy night.

Ask yourself what Redford would wear and then dress accordingly.

Oh, Bobby.

Have a quiet night at home with or without a date…

I would watch The Way We Were.

Robert Redford and Barbra Streisand, need I say more? One of the greatest on screen romances in history, and perfect for anyone who needs a good cry.

I hope everyone has a great weekend!

Tim

About Tim Horn

I have recently acquired a degree in Film Studies at the University of Manitoba and am now enrolled in the Creative Communications program at Red River College. Film, Literature, Music, Comic Books, and Video Games. These are the things that feed my brain and keep me sane.
This entry was posted in Movies, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If I Were To…

  1. joelnickel says:

    Wow, Robert Redford looks really dapper!

  2. Kenton says:

    No Charlie Sheen in the Wall Street sequel? Boooo!

Leave a Reply

